WHEN SOMEONE WON’T STOP E-MAILING…

SOMEONES FRIENDLY, TOO FRIENDLY!  AND THEY DOUBLE THE E-MAILS IN YOUR INBOX….

do you find 67 ways to say ‘thank you’ and choose your favorite from this cup when you reply to their 37th message

…do you cover your eyes , think up an excuse, and pretend not to see the five missed, highlighted  e-mails with exclamations in your ‘UNREAD’ folder…

…do you make it clear that you’re gonna post a message on your facebook “DON’T LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU: Block this person who stalks..” message , if they don’t stop writing you….

…do you stay up all night grounding light, medium, and strong Columbian espresso roasts so you can spend until 2 am responding to the messages they were e-mailing you…

…do you choose a random word off one of their e-mails, think up a subject that goes along with it, and not check back for a few days to see if it made sense in your reply or not…

I would check off the last one, but I wanted to ask around what people do when someone sends them e-mails obsessively…I’m having this problem lately, well, at work and as soon as I e-mail this person they write me back immediately..It’s not like I don’t have anything else to do…I have papers piling up on both sides of my lamp, a water bottle that has green funghi growing in it because I don’t have time to wash it, and three coffee mugs that I haven’t taken home in a week and a half because I’ve forgotten them everyday.  What should I do?

[

One thought on “WHEN SOMEONE WON’T STOP E-MAILING…

  1. daniel says:

    First, I would turn off my email notifier so I didn’t see a pop up or hear a ding when a new email arrived. It makes me feel like one of Pavlov’s pooches. Ding. Email. Respond. Fuck that.

    Turn the thing off and only check work email 2-4 times per day. I check my work email mid morning, mid afternoon, and near the end of business day. 3 times only. AND I never respond to work email immediately. People think YOU sit at your desk with nothing better to do like them.

    Ask yourself if the world would stop if you waited till later or better yet…tomorrow to answer their email. OR the BEST – do you even need to respond at all? 🙂

Leave a Reply

